DOG LICENSES

All dogs in Easton must be licensed. Per CT General Statute Sec.22-338, all dogs over the age of 6 months must be licensed by the Town Clerk annually on or before June 30th. The license is valid from July 1st through June 30th. All licensed dogs must wear the tag on a collar around their neck. Dogs new to you that are 6 months old or older must be licensed within 30 days of obtaining them.

NEW DOG LICENSES

To license your dog, please print **Connecticut Dog License Application** (or pick up in Town Clerk's office), and either mail or bring in person to the Town Clerk's office.

Licensing Fees:

\$8.00 for a spayed or neutered dog

\$19.00 for an unsprayed or unneutered dog

Late fee (after the month of June) \$1.00 per month

*Proof of current rabies vaccination is required.

*When licensing a dog for the first time, provide certificate of spaying or neutering from a veterinarian.

Please provide the documentation and fees as outlined above, along with a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Current postage: 1 tag is 66 cents; 2 tags is 86 cents; each additional tag 20 cents

Easton Town Clerk, 225 Center Road, Easton, CT 06612

RENEWAL DOG LICENSES (Online, through U.S. mail, or in person) AS OF JUNE 1, 2014

For privacy and security reasons, in order to renew online, you must have your current license year and dog tag number available in order to access the system. You can locate this number either on the paper license or the actual dog tag on the dog. In addition, if your dog's rabies vaccination has expired since the last time you licensed your dog, you must provide documentation (tags do not qualify) from the veterinarian showing the new expiration date. (If you are renewing online, you must have the ability to scan these documents in any valid Windows' Image format, such as JPEG, TIFF, GIF, BMP or PNG. Please note: PDF is not accepted.) No licenses will be renewed without this information. If your dog is newly spayed or neutered, you must bring documentation from the veterinarian.

Online Renewal Licensing Fees:

Licensing fees listed above also apply to online renewals. Each transaction will be subject to a convenience fee which will be paid directly to Official Payments.

\$1.00 Debit; \$1.95 Credit Cards (American Express NOT accepted); \$2.00 E-Check

TRANSFERS FROM OTHER TOWNS WITHIN CONNECTICUT (In person)

If you have moved to Easton and your dog is currently licensed in another Connecticut town, you can transfer the dog's license for a \$0.50 fee.

If you acquire a dog that is already licensed by its prior owner In Easton, you may transfer ownership to your name for \$1.00

LOST TAGS (In person)

If your dog loses its tag, a replacement may be obtained for \$0.50.

KENNEL LICENSES (U.S. Mail or In person)

Kennel licenses are available in groups of 10 tags. The fee is \$51.00. Late fee \$10.00.

Violation of the licensing law carries a fine to be imposed by the Animal Control Officer.